LTC/CHL Classes - EL Training Team

TX License To Carry (formerly CHL)

Click HERE for the latest LTC law news.


thank you for showing interest in the Texas License To Carry (LTC) a handgun.
We at EL Training Team feel strongly that all responsible adults should take personal ownership of their own protection. We feel that getting the LTC and actually carrying a handgun in Texas and over 30 other states is one of several steps that an individual can take in that direction. Because of that, we have taught the Texas License To Carry (formerly Concealed Handgun License) class since nearly the beginning of the program. So, after you verify your Eligibility and make sure you understand the Costs involved, you can start your application process!


just follow these simple steps (see Why In This Order for our reasons for recommending taking the steps in this order):

TX DPS Handgun Licensing

Texas Department of Public Safety (TX DPS) administers the Handgun Licensing Program, licenses individuals to carry handguns within Texas, evaluates the eligibility of applicants through criminal history background checks and monitors those currently licensed to ensure their continued eligibility. DPS also trains and certifies instructors who teach the required course to applicants.

Some Most-Used Links:

No public classes currently scheduled. 
Request one.

LTC Eligibility

Texas is a "Shall-Issue" state, which means that by law, the state is required to issue your license if you are eligible and have submitted all your appication documents and fees. Since it is a non-refundable application fee, it is in your best interest to verify that you are eligible BEFORE sending your money to the state. This is not difficult, and we can help you verify your eligibility.

The eligibility requirements are in GC §411.172. A simplified summary says an eligible person:

  • Is at least 21 years old; *
  • Has not been convicted of a felony; *
  • Has not been convicted in the last 5 years of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or of an offense under PC §42.01 (Disorderly Conduct);
  • Is not currently charged with a disqualifying offense (above);
  • Is not a fugitive from justice for a disqualifying offense (above);
  • Is not chemically dependent;
  • Is not incapable of exercising sound judgement;
  • Is fully qualified under Federal and State law to purchase a handgun;
  • Has not been finally determined to be delinquent in child support or any state taxes;
  • Is not currently restricted under a court protective order, or subject to a restraining order; and
  • Has not made any material misrepresentations, or failed to disclose any material fact, in their application.

* Some exceptions (see GC §411.172 for details)

Costs of LTC Application

NOTE: The LTC Class Fee includes the Proficiency Demonstration (shooting portion), but the range location may charge an additional range fee (no more than $20). The Class Fee does not include the cost of fingerprinting (usually $10), or the non-refundable application fee to the state. Typically, the application fee is $40 with some exceptions. See the LTC Fee Schedule (PDF) for the current fees, and here's a simple overview:

  • Standard, no special conditions = $40;
  • Senior Citizens (60+) = $40/35;
  • Indigent (per Federal Poverty Guidelines) = $40/35;
  • Active or Retired Judicial Officer = $25;
  • Retired Peace Officer = $25;
  • Honorably Discharged Veteran = $25;
  • Active Military/Peace Officer = $0; and
  • Felony Prosecuting Attorney = $0.

Why In This Order

You do not have to take the steps in this order. The reasons we recommend this particular order are:

  • Step 1 - LTC Class. When you take the class first, your Form LTC-100 (Completion Certificate) is good for 1 year from the earliest date on the form. If you apply online, you can scan your Form LTC-100 (or EL Training Team can provide you with a PDF copy) and attach it with the application process. If you apply via snail mail (USPS), you will have the original Form LTC-100 to mail with your application packet. Regardless, we recommend keeping a copy for your records.
  • Step 2 - DPS Online Application. Currently, almost 95% of LTC applications are filed online. If you apply online, you can provide all information needed for your application and can then schedule an appointment for electronic fingerprints. DPS says that any application that is incomplete for 90 days will be closed, but you may apply for a 90 day extension.
  • Step 3 - Electronic Fingerprints. When finished applying online, you will be prompted to select a location and time convenient for your fingerprints. If you did not apply online, you will need to wait for the letter from DPS confirming receipt of your application to arrive in the mail before scheduling fingerprints.
  • Step 4 - Upload Your Application. Once the DPS has received your completed application, by law they have 60 days to issue your License To Carry a Handgun or deny it based on your lack of eligibility. In reality, turn around times have been around 4-6 weeks.

Proficiency Demonstration


The License To Carry (LTC) class is NOT a "How To Shoot" class. As the name of the Proficiency Demonstration implies, the shooting portion of getting your LTC allows you to demonstrate that you are proficient with your firearm. Proficiency in this sense means being able to safely handle and operate a handgun and being able to score at least 70% of the 250 points possible (175 minimum passing score) on a B27 Target (shown). Scoring is 5 points for shots in the 8, 9, 10 and X rings; 4 points for shots in the 7 ring, and 3 points for shots in the color outside the rings. If you don't feel comfortable with that, we can help get you ready with your choice of the LTC Prep, or the NRA Basic Pistol classes.

Per the TX DPS, the Proficiency Demonstration (PDF) consists of 50 shots fired from 3 distances:

  • 3 Yards (20 shots total):
    • 5 strings of ( 1 shot in 2 seconds ),
    • 5 strings of ( 2 shots in 3 seconds ), and
    • 1 string of ( 5 shots in 10 seconds ).
  • 7 Yards (20 shots total):
    • 1 string of ( 5 shots in 10 seconds ),
    • 1 string of ( 2 shots in 4 seconds ),
    • 1 string of ( 3 shots in 6 seconds ),
    • 5 strings of ( 1 shot in 3 seconds ), and
    • 1 string of ( 5 shots in 15 seconds ).
  • 15 Yards (10 shots total):
    • 1 string of ( 2 shots in 6 seconds ),
    • 1 string of ( 3 shots in 9 seconds ), and
    • 1 string of ( 5 shots in 15 seconds ).

Bottom line, if you can hit the roughly 10"x18" 5-point zone at 3 and 7 yards, that is 80% of the points available. You have already qualified as long as you don't do anything unsafe. You still have to fire the shots at 15 yards, but at this point, it is just icing on the cake.